ammo boots?

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by remf_crow, Nov 7, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. can any qm help?

my ammo boots do not fit anymore and i am looking at buying a new pair, but i have been told that i may be able to get some through the system.

i am issued with lowa cbt boots due to the fact that i cant fit my feet into regular boots, due to this i have always bought my own ammo boots for any 2's parades. is there anyway that i can get a pair of ammo boots issed (remembering that i am an engineer)?

2. never had them issued to me in 21 yrs service, so hand in pocket time i feel. also RE.

3. I know the Household Cavalry and Guess the Guards Regts have them issued so there is a part Number. I also remember certain people in the Quartermasters technical dept who would scour the lists for interesting items they would try and indent for. If you are near a guards regt or Windsor phone up the QM's department and offer a pair for pair trade. Throw in something for good will. (in my day we had to take food or no deal.) Got to be worth a try. :D

6. im only 18, and have been in for 2 years. when i joined i was a size 11, but im now size 14 and i think still growing!

with reference to those boots, me younger cousin joined the guards and was struggling to burn his boots down, so i tried giving him a hand with no result!

thanks for evry1s help though!!!

7. The new issue ammo boot is a softer leather than the old style and needs to be burned down and waxed a number of times, do not try to apply loads of wax in one go, just heat the boot rub in a small ammount of wax, leave it for a day or two, sand them down with fine glass paper and repeat. You may need to do this a number of times to get the desired affect. Oh and remember, the boots need to tightly packed, preferably with sand.