American officer heading to London--advice sought

Gentlemen and others,

I am an American company grade officer headed to London for graduate school starting in September. I will not mention where to remain anonymous but am more than happy to discuss specifics by private message with anyone who cares to discuss academics. I've never spent any time in the UK before beyond air travel layovers and have been told I should expect it be be just as foreign as any other distant land. I thought I'd reach out to ARRSE to request general advice. Fire away! All advice is appreciated.

Also, there are a few more specific topic I'd appreciate your thoughts on.

First, a silly but I think important topic: clothes. My civilian wardrobe is better than most (our officer corps is so poorly dressed over here there are War College essays on the topic) but is absolutely tiny. For fear of embarrassing my homeland, I feel like I should expand my wardrobe, but I also have no idea what is appropriate daily wear for graduate student. So, if y'all were headed to graduate school in civvies (do you still say mufti?), would you be getting a bunch of blazers made, planning to bum around in collared shirts and polos, or just expecting to wear awful gym clothes all the time like most grad students in the US?

Second, any advice on London clubs? I have reciprocal membership in most of the old military clubs but am unsure if that will get me into their social events, or even if it's even worth trying.

Finally, any advice on London real estate? My housing allowance is about 2300 pounds per month (more than my base pay!) which seems to be enough to get a decent place that will fit me and my books. I've already narrowed down where I'll be living to a few places, but am still undecided if I want a nicer place further out of the city center or a smaller place closer to the bustle. The institution I'll be studying at is right on the Strand.

V/r,
"Galvanized Yankee"

Drivers_lag

On ROPS
On ROPs