Am I Student at Staff College?

Discussion in 'Finance, Property, Law' started by Adjutant, Aug 3, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Apparently, if you're on one of the old Staff Courses - or similar of more than 12 months duration, you can legitamately tell the tax-man you're a Student, based on the fact that you're in full-time education.

Does anyone have any experience of this? Apparently there's a form to be had from the admin office....
  2. Mr_Fingerz

Mr_Fingerz LE Book Reviewer

This is from the Revenue and Customs website ( frequently asked questions:

I'm a full time student, why am I paying tax?

All individuals regardless of their age are liable to pay Income Tax if their income exceeds their personal allowance

If you only work during the three holiday periods (Christmas, Easter and Summer) and you estimate that your total income for the tax year will be less than the personal allowance, ask your employer for a form P38(S). Return the completed form to your employer to enable your wages to be paid without deduction of Income Tax.

Completion of this form is not applicable if you are working during term time (e.g. evenings or weekends).

If you're at Staff College it's probably fair to assume that your income will exceed your tax allowances (look at your tax code), and you will still be paying tax on your salary.
  3. Yea right, pigs fly and suicide bombers do not intentionally want to kill people. Whilst in receipt of full time pay from your employer you are not a student and will be taxed as normal. I have never heard of YofS, FofS, tiffy's or anyone on a long course doing this, so therefore someone has fed you some smelly stuff.
  4. Bad CO

Bad CO LE Admin Reviews Editor Gallery Guru