Am I daft? / Will I be OK?

Discussion in 'Officers' started by Joe.S, Jun 16, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Good afternoon all,

I have done a fair bit of reading about on the officer threads here, if I am recovering old ground I apologise.
    I am, as so many on here are, looking for a spot of advice.

My situation is as follows: I am a teacher in an excellent school. I am head of my department and also a house master. In a relatively short space of time, I have made a successful career of teaching. I am paid well and get good holidays. I live with my girlfriend and am generally happy. I am 27.

When I left university, I was torn between following a career in teaching or in the army. I had attended the RCB (as was) brief and with a cat 1 was onwards to the main board. I was not wholly sure of my choice though and opted instead to pursue teaching. The reasons for this were not specific, just a young man not being sure what he wanted to do. I also figured that I could explore teaching without having to make as great a commitment.

This decision turned out to work fine and lead me to where I am now. Since deciding not to go to the main board and pursue the army, it (army career) has sat at the back of my mind. With the clock running on my age, I have decided to 'scratch my itch' and re-apply. I have met with an AFCO, have a briefing booked and am in the process of lining up a number of visits.

I am motivated by the chance to really stretch and challenge myself again both physically and mentally. To learn a whole new set of skills, to try and bring to bear what I have learnt in education to a differnt career. I am also aware that teaching would be easy to pick up again after I had spent some time in the army (if the army wanted me).

My questions to you all are: