Always/Never - US nucear weapon safety/security documentary

Yokel

LE
On YouTube I found this three part documentary about the system developed for the safety and security of things like nuclear weapons. As an Engineering student I learned, pretty much as an axiom, that things such as cabling for power and signals should be segregated, or that events are usually the result of combinations of unlikely events - what has been called the Swiss Cheese Model.

This three part documentary by Sandia National Laboratories is fascinating - to the Engineer anyway! I understand that when the Polaris missile was first deployed, the warheads had some sort of metal wire in the 'pit' to absorb neutrons (???) and to prevent criticality, and in flight this would be extracted.

On YouTube I found this three part documentary about the system developed for the safety and security of things like nuclear weapons. As an Engineering student I learned, pretty much as an axiom, that things such as cabling for power and signals should be segregated, or that events are usually the result of combinations of unlikely events - what has been called the Swiss Cheese Model.

This three part documentary by Sandia National Laboratories is fascinating - to the Engineer anyway! I understand that when the Polaris missile was first deployed, the warheads had some sort of metal wire in the 'pit' to absorb neutrons (???) and to prevent criticality, and in flight this would be extracted.
At a guess Boron.
The reaction is:
10B + nth → [11B] *→ α + 7Li + 2.31 MeV.

Boron is used in control shims in reactors for that reason.

I cannot be sure, I was never cleared for nuclear weapons, but the physics makes sense
n.b. the number before the Boron (10,11) should be superscripts but ARRSE can't do that.The th after the neutron should be a subscript. I hope this adds clarity.

Yokel

LE