Altberg warrior or Lowa Patrol

mdon

Swinger
Hi,

I'm a police firearms officer and our force has recently switched from issuing altberg P3s to Magnums which are rubbish! So I'm going to shell out my own money to buy some decent boots. I've had problems with the P3s as in the steel midsole of both pairs I've had in the last two years has split which caused a clicking sound when walking and I could feel it too.

Anyhow I like the above boots mostly because of the rubber strip around the boot as I'm often kicking clumps of the leather out of my boots (god knows how I manage it). My question is, which boot is best? And is the lowa patrol boot big and clumsy? A guy on my section has the lowa mountain boots in my size (10) and although he swears by them for being comfortable they look massive compared to my P3s, they look like moon boots! Are the patrol boots any smaller?

Cheers all.

I'm surprised you couldn't get this advice from your peers to be honest as most AFO's are boot perverts.

Personally I wear Lowa Combat or Mountain boots in the winter or rainy days and Lowa Urbans for dry, hot days. All are excellent options. The mountain and combat boots, once broken in, will serve you well for ages.

Posted from the ARRSE Mobile app (iOS or Android)

mdon

Swinger
I'm surprised you couldn't get this advice from your peers to be honest as most AFO's are boot perverts.

Personally I wear Lowa Combat or Mountain boots in the winter or rainy days and Lowa Urbans for dry, hot days. All are excellent options. The mountain and combat boots, once broken in, will serve you well for ages.

There's a couple that are, they love their danner boots but I'm not wanting to spend that much. The rest just used the issued pair, the problem I have with the Magnus is that they are just too wide and are horrible to drive in. The Lowas look the same tbh. Pity there's nowhere to try the Lowas on, I'm just under two hours from the altberg factory, I may take a drive over on my rest days.