Altberg comparison - Sneeker vs. Warrior vs. Field&Fell?

Discussion in 'Military Clothing & Boots' started by Stukagum, Sep 1, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

writing to you from Denmark here. :viking: I registered because I want to try a pair of Altberg boots, but nobody in mainland Europe seems to know much about them. Here we go:

My reason for trying them is that
    - issued boot is crap
    - the popular alternatives are typically mountain style boots and too stiff for me

I have some experience with Lowas and while they are of superb quality, the hard soles just don´t work for me. I need boots that will do well in woods, marshlands, sandy terrain and to some extent on roads. No mountains/rocks around. However, it can´t be too soft either. I won´t do any hardcore ultra heavy rucking, but patrolpacks and heavier firearms require their bit of ankle support I guess. A firm, yet somewhat flexible sole will do. My service is part time, I must add, so wear&tear is an issue but not as much as for full time tabbers of course. Full leather is a must, non-goretex would be nice but I would compromise on that. Resoleability would also be a plus. As a reference I would say that the Lowa mountain/patrol boot is too thick and stiff, Magnums or Oakleys are too soft (apart from their other flaws...).

So for those of you who have the comparison, how would you rate the Sneeker, Warrior and Field&Fell. The latter looks the best and sturdiest to me, but I suspect it to be as stiff as a Lowa. Sneeker - maybe too soft, and not full leather? Can the non-gtx version be proofed with wax/grease? Aqua version instead? Warrior seems in between, looks firmer than the Sneeker and softer than the F&F.

Any advice/rating list would be greatly appreciated. :)

Thanks and have a great weekend.