AI - Artificial Intelligence: boon or bollocks?

When faced with a chatbot, do you:

• Close the chatbot and continue using the site?

Votes: 9 29.0%
  • Close the website and go elsewhere?

Votes: 5 16.1%
  • Engage with the chatbot and use it to answer your questions?

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Ask the chatbot what underwear (if any) it is wearing and would it like to engage in procreation?

Votes: 7 22.6%
  • Give me a human to talk to or I'll burn down your head office!

Votes: 10 32.3%

• Total voters
Against all my better judgement, I would like to know your opinion about the use of chatbots/'AI' and other such crap when using websites.

Do you hate them, do you like them, or do you not give a toss? If you like them, please take a moment to say why. Have you come across any decent ones?

Why am I asking this? Because I work in insurance and it appears that insurance companies and brokers are utilising chatbots and what they call 'AI' at an ever increasing rate. When asked, they say it is because it increases customer satisfaction and engagement... I suspect it is more about sacking as many people as possible and replacing them with a piece of shite software and further commoditising insurance (something vehemently denied by every insurer).

I have seen AI used to great effect in medicine: being much more accurate and reliable than the best doctors at identifying cancerous cells, and better predicting the side-effects of new medicines (as just two examples). I have seen it used with zero beneficial effect by companies such as Amazon when trying to sell you crap similar to the other crap you may have already purchased, and its utterly counter-productive use by companies such as Adzuna and other jobsites for matching CVs and jobs (who knew that my ideal job was a lion-taming actuary?).

That all sounds a bit newfangled for me. Does it work on VHS or Betamax?