Afghanistan & WW3

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by two_of_seven, Oct 28, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. What is the criteria for a conflict to become a world war?

I ask as The Afghan (& Iraq)conflict has been going on for longer than WW2 and has had a fair number of counties with troops in combat?

Are rationing or conscription prerequisits for a new WW?

I am genuinely curious on this subject.

2. Is there wahness in the air?

3. Maybe by "WW" the OP means "World Wah?"

4. Well I am no rocket scientist but you have answered your own question haven't you? WW means World War as in the World (in general a few countries may avoid it). Afghanistan and Iraq (as was) didnt involve the World per se only some countries. May be wrong usually am.

5. A world war would be "General War" i.e. one that is fought across the boundaries of the belligerents, probably not taking notice of them.

Afghanistan is a "limited war" i.e. one that is confined to a narrow region, despite the involvement of an international coalition, from a large number of countries.

Length of conflict is pretty irrelevant; look at how long the troubles in NI dragged on.

Standing by to be Wah'd...

6. Well, lets look at the check list shall we,

1. Arguing with the wife about being too old to re-enlist and joining the newly formed Home Guard in the village instead.

2. Children hanging around the railway station waiting to be collected. Check

3. Gracie Fields and George Formby movies on at the Odeon.

4. Vera Lynn singing on the radio. Check

5. Americans and all manner of foreigners everywhere you go in London Check

6. Expensive, and occasional shortage of, petrol Check

7. Merchant ships going missing at sea Check

8. RAF losing aircraft and Navy losing ships Check

9. Busty, hearty young girls coming to the countryside to work on the land.