Afghanistan then onto private security.

Discussion in 'Infantry' started by pigdog, Jan 18, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Left R.A. about 5 years ago and am interested in going to Afghanistan with an aim then possibly doing private security. The two options i believe i have are; sign back on as a reservist or join t.a.!

Reservist option as of 5-6 days ago, infantry driver or R.L.C. not what i belive would help me if i chose to look into private security afterwards( this being a consideration).

T.A. spoke to them and they said i would have to do 1 weekend a month for 9 months to become a "trained solider" not really wanting to wait that long.

So any quicker ways to get in without rejoining?

Mate whos still in R.A. said as an infantry driver i would more likely than not get to do the infantry job and possibly do a bit of driving( i'm not totally convinced i'm not just going to end up stagging on and potentially not gain a great deal of knowledge)?

If i do want to possibly go into the private security aspect would this be enough with a tour and civvie bodyguard course? Any answers greatly appreciated, ie life in generall in Afghanistan, how long to upskill from R.H.A. (R.A.) to infantry?

Chees Gents.
  2. RMP TA can now do the CP course, do the course, a tour and you will have one of the best CP courses that you can do in the world as well as CP experience.
  3. Not a bad idea, could take a while to become an R.M.P.even T.A.? Any thoughts
  4. Whereabouts are you mate?
  5. Heard now that blokes doing Cp course are made to sign a contract of some sort. In the past blokes were doing the course, the day that the course ended they were signing off!
  6. Yorkshire lad rellegated to Coventry.
  7. Yeah, was thinking of doing a civie one.