Afghan First Tour - Some NIG Questions

OK. My first post so here goes.

I am office-based CSS usually but have just been warned off for a tour starting sharpish. Basically I am embedding with an Inf Coy in a FOB and will be patrolling and such like. Spending a lot of time in the Green Zone I have been told. Good fun. :)

Now the questions, since I have never even wore Osprey before.

1. Is belt kit better than a chest rig? I see a lot of posts about Molle etc.

2. Life in the FOB, I am not expecting laptop chargers etc but is there any little items I can take to make life easier?

3. Any bits of kit I should buy to make patrolling/tabbing easier or is the new issue all you need? Knee Pads for instance or gloves.

4. Contact lenses. I wear em, disposable dailies. Anyone else do this or do I need my Joe 90 gigs on?

This isn't a WAH, it's my first time and I just want to know the opinions of guys who have been there and done it when I have not been anywhere even near it. I am more f*cking nervous about looking a mong than actually going to Herrick!! :D

Cheers all.

Do you know what FOB?

In my experience;
You can forget packing loads of kit into webbing to go on patrol as folks tend to on Ex in the UK. You will be carrying minimal kit as you will have Osprey, water, ammo and it is likely that you will be carrying 'other' bits of kit on your back. All this tripe about boot cleaning kits and spare socks- forget it. A man bag is good for veh based ops, otherwise most bits will be attached direct to your BA.
Contact lenses- I wore them for my whole time and had no problems but daily disposables are the way to go owing to the risk of infection. Take your specs and get the inserts for your issue sunnies/ goggles.
Before you splash out on kit i would wait to see what you get issued ie you will get gloves and knee pads (which are now better than the old ones)