Advice welcome from the leaders

Discussion in 'Officers' started by Beck, Jun 12, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Advice welcome from the leaders, which we call officers. I have no relevant experience but Im looking to do volunteer work. I would like to volunteer in a counselling environment. Is there anything within the Army that i could do to gain experience in counselling. If not is there anything in civy street, where i could volunteer remembering at the same time my commitment to the Army and if we are allowed to volunteer. Any constructive advice or suggestions would be welcome, Thanks Beck.

2. Well, I could suggest being buttfcuked by a coy load of paras, that way you get some counseling experience from the patients point of view WAH!

3. I'm not an officer, but I'm an ex-squaddie/aspiring Clinical Psychologist. There are plenty of areas that you could use to give you experience of working with people - some will even supplement your wages...

Have you considered -

Undergoing therapy yourself, it can really help when applying for courses because you can relate your own experience/have increased empathy.

Becoming a part time ABA therapist (working with altistic children) - you'll also get paid about 8 pounds an hour.

RMA (thats what I did and it's def. helped me get work on the outside as a HCA, which in turn is giving me more experience with vunerable people, e.g. dementia sufferers/ parkinsonians.

One of the telephone listening services, such as childline, or sane.

Speak to your local mental health crisis team (speak to the local GP surgery for the phone number) and ask if they have/know of any thing that you could assist with.

Maybe your local college runs counselling courses, or you could use your SLC/ECL to attend a CBT course.