Advice Required - Help For Heroes

Discussion in 'Charities and Welfare' started by Whiskey_60, Dec 20, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello Chaps,

I'm a serving TA Soldier in the north of England and I want to do my part for Help For Heroes - Mainly because it is an exceptional charity that deserves every penny we can raise, but also because closer to home a member of my unit has unfortunately had to use Selly Oak and Headley court due to injuries sustained on Operations - They have done an amazing job in rehabilitating this person.

My Civilian employer has pledged to match whatever I can raise and I have members of senior management within my Civi work place that are willing to jump along with myself (I've never undertaken a parachute jump and neither have they). I also have managed to get a contact in our regional radio station (I won't name it but i promise you it IS the most listened to station around here) so provided i can get the admin side off the ground theres a good scope for me to drum up some exceptional support as i work for a large blue chip organisation.

Now, this is where I need a little help. I have never organised a charity event before and I am dead serious about getting this right and maximising the amount that goes to Help For Heroes.

If this were you, where would you start?

Have you ever done this before in the North of England and can recommend a company that does simple charity jumps?

Do you have any more suggestions on how to drum up more support for this event?

Can you offer me any general advice or pointers that will make this a success story?

Thanks chaps, I know i'm coming across with really pump questions, I'm just looking for assistance from my fellow Arrser's!

**Disclaimer: My spelling is pants but can we look past it for this post?**
  2. Grownup_Rafbrat