Advice regarding infantry

Discussion in 'Infantry' started by mrjoshua, Sep 30, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I've found out that there's a pretty slim chance of me being able to join the Royal Engineers due to having bad GCSE grades. The only other thing i'd be interested in doing is joining the infantry. My local regiment is PWRR so my choice is going for that or trying to go PARA. What are the major differences between the roles of these two regiments? Do any of you have any advice or experience you could share with me regarding joining the infantry as opposed to other areas of the army. i.e. Pros/Cons etc.

Any help will be extremely appreciated, just want to get out of this bollocks rut i've been in and get out there and do something decent with my life.

Cheers.

2. I'm not an expert, nor am I a member of either, but I'm in the middle of the application process to join the Infantry.
    It depends how fit you are as to whether you go PARA. I would LOVE to do that, but at the minute I'm just not fit enough, and I want to get joined up now, so I've gone the Rifles, and hopefully the 1st Battalion the Rifles because they are a part of 3 commando brigade so you get to do the AACC if you want.
    I've spoken to many people in the army, including a Major who has been in for over 30 years. He says that the Infantry IS the army, and the rest of the it support them, be it COMMS or whatever. Also, Infantry is proper soldiering.
    The cons are that Inf don't get paid that much compared to other jobs, where you might find it harder/slower to get promoted. Take for example the Royal Military Police. Once you've completed training you get promoted straight to Lance Corporal, so obviously are on a higher wage. Although if you can't get into the Engineers you wont get into the RMP.