advice please

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by smartcookie, Jun 4, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am a teacher at a fairly rough secondary school. There is a lad there who is nearly 16 and the proverbial pain in the backside. He is in trouble alot of the time, is confrontational, can be abusive, argumentative and generally on a slippery slope downwards. That said on a one to one basis he has a nice side to him. To cut a long story short he has very low self esteem and thinks he is 'thick' and cannot do anything. He thinks his life will never get better (he has a very challenging home life) he has said a couple of times that he would like to join the army but has said today that he has given upon that idea as 'they wont take someone like me'!! He really believes that he has nothing to offer because he finds alot of subjects difficult and is always in trouble. I think alot of his behavioural issues are to do with his own personal struggles.
    Could someone tell me if he would be considered despite his difficult background, poor behaviour and academic difficulties? I really want to come back and give him some positive advice straight from the horses mouth so to say. What options would be available to him if he was able to be considered?
    Any advice gratefully received
  2. The Army likes to give second chances, get him to the Careers office and have a discussion with a recruiter.
  3. There are jobs to suit all kinds in the forces, the only thing that could maybe go against him, is a criminal record.
    That said, I imagine unless he had been in serious trouble, he could change his life and make something of himself without too much difficulty.