Advice Please.

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by DublinDes, Mar 22, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'll have to keep this fairly vague as i don't know who might read it. I'm seeking some level headed advice;

The scenario is this; i'm a Police officer on a small non uniform team.

Recently whilst on an operation a colleague was badly injured in an RTC. We went to his aid and carried out basic first aid (Airway etc) until the arrival of professional medical assistance.

Doctors stated that our actions where responsible for saving his life.

It is rumoured that those of us present are to receive a commendation for our actions.

Two people in the team did not take any part in the incident, one of the two was "Too upset" to attend the scene and sat about half a mile away out of view. The other person remained with them to ensure they were ok. The upset person was obviously very distressed by the incident, they had apparently lost a friend in similar circumstances some years previously.

There are now angry comments being made within the team as to whether or not these two people should receive the commendation. The management says yes, others are saying that they will decline the award if these two people are included.

I should add that the upset person is not popular with several people on the team and has been accused of attention seeking and , not acting professionally. I personally feel as a copper that we are expected to "Get on with it" and that this person has no excuse for not rushing to an injured colleagues aid. We cry our tears later, and we did.