Advice on Units to Join

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,

Need some advice on who to join. I'm wanting to go as an officer, but I failed Main Board last time, and should I fail again, I will join the army as a soldier. I've talked to careers people, and I've mentioned my interest in the infantry, but they are not keen as I am a graduate and think I should do something more technical. I'm currently in training as a reservist infantryman and have got on with the guys I've met, but maybe their is a different culture in the regulars that I don't know about. A good friend of mine is int corp and suggest I try that.

I'm after a role that will let me get stuck in, and not stick me in a base somewhere. I'm a physical guy, I do a lot of MMA and running. However, the careers lot say that the infantry soldier culture is not something a graduate can fit into. No idea if this is true, so what do people think? Infantry or look elsewhere?

Look at Ammunition Technician within the RLC.

dingerr is fully clued up as AT.

Sarastro

LE
Kit Reviewer
Book Reviewer
Hi everyone,

Need some advice on who to join. I'm wanting to go as an officer, but I failed Main Board last time, and should I fail again, I will join the army as a soldier. I've talked to careers people, and I've mentioned my interest in the infantry, but they are not keen as I am a graduate and think I should do something more technical. I'm currently in training as a reservist infantryman and have got on with the guys I've met, but maybe their is a different culture in the regulars that I don't know about. A good friend of mine is int corp and suggest I try that.

I'm after a role that will let me get stuck in, and not stick me in a base somewhere. I'm a physical guy, I do a lot of MMA and running. However, the careers lot say that the infantry soldier culture is not something a graduate can fit into. No idea if this is true, so what do people think? Infantry or look elsewhere?