Advice on TA Travel please.

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by Northern Monkey, Mar 7, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Can anyone help with advice on TA travel claims? I am a serving soldier and my wife is an NCO with a TA unit in the Midlands. We are currently living in Cyprus and she commutes back to UK for about a week a month to complete Coy trg and admin work. Her unit has been good in that they often arrange for her to be collected from Brize but it's still getting expensive travel wise. Although she has on occasion used indulgence flights it isn't guaranteed that she will get a place and she has more often than not had to get civilian flights at her own expense. What is she entitled to claim as TA? Is she entitled to be paid for her travelling time?
    Any advice gratefully received...

2. NM

The answer to both questions is No. I'm surprised the unit hasn't sorted out a local arrangement for her though. Depending on her Capbadge and trade it can usually be arranged through the system to put her 35 days in locally obviously with the agreement of both her TA unit and a local unit.

3. NM

Your wifes deserves a medal for her commitment but can't your unit help her out? Assuming you met while you where her PSI

4. Thanks for the response guys (you are guys aren't you...?) I seem to recall somewhere reading that dispensation can be given at Bde level for larger travel claims. As many guys used to travel from Manchester to W. Brom for drill nights and Coy trg and get MMA (or the equivalent) each way, I should imagine that this would add up to a fair few quid and even this would go some way towards paying for flights.