Advice on route into Army

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by dooyoo, May 14, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi guys,

I am looking to get a bit of advice around the different options in the army and what would suit me best. I am currently studying towards a degree in business management whilst working full time for an IT company (in a business focused role, not technical, so I dont have any transferrable IT skills as such).

I've always had an interest in joining the military, but have never really considered going for it until the past two years. I think when I was younger I was far more motivated by money, and glorified civvy roles in the city. As I've got a bit older, my motivtions have changed and I have a more realistic idea of what certain civilian jobs entail. I am a very active person and have a real interest in international relations, current affairs and warfare. I hate the thought of a 9-5 office job, and am drawn to the adventure and variation that the military can offer. Money is no longer my main driver.

I have always been quite academic, and have got fairly good grades. I wasn't the best behaved at school/college, but have sorted this out now and dont imagine i'd have any discipline issues if i were to join up. When I graduate in 2014 I will be 20 and will have an FdA in Management Studies, a BA (Hons) in Business Management and 3 years of work experience. My A-Level grades were ABB.

Whilst I am very keen to join the army, I am not sure which branch I would be best suited to. I am sure that i do not want to go in a primarily combat focused role. Whilst i appreciate everyone is a soldier first, and all roles could require you to be in a combat situation, I do not want to be an infantry/combat solider as my primary function (if that makes sense).