Advice on joining

Discussion in 'Juniors' started by Zega, Jan 21, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all.

I have done my BARB test and an application has gone through to harrogate. In a couple of weeks time im going for my first interview.....what should i expect?

Also what is selection like, any advice on how to get ready for it properly?

Apologies if i have posted this in the wrong board..im new to ARRSE!

Zega

2. Hullo Zega, and welcome to Arrse.

Have a look around. There are plenty of threads already covering this.

PB

3. Get running :thumright:

4. Selection is quite simple mate, you just have to try your best on everything you do, don't be too quiet on the team-tasks etc. When are you wanting to go to Harrogate?

5. Deadly Homer- What Bn are you in?

6. I had my selection weekend in November, and am now enlisting on 15th of Feb then starting basic training on 05 of March.

I didn't really prepare much for my Selection, they gave me a timetable and that was pretty much the routine for the day.

When we arrived at Lichfield we were picked up by a Corporal at the train station. Arrived at the ATC and recieved our bib numbers, and they took our urine sample. Waited around in the med centre for the first part of the medical - BMI, eye sight, hearing. After all the filtering, we stood outside for our basic stand to attention stand at ease introduction and a talk by the sergeant on behavioural expectations.

Lunch

2nd part of the medical, stripped to boxers, and general medical and yes, drop and cough.

Deferalls / failures went home (very demoralising if you've come from afar!)