Advice on joining the TA please...

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by JayPee630, Oct 13, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

Been lurking for a while, and now actually need to ask the collective wisdom some advice...

I served 4 years as a Tom in Para Regt in the early 1990s, and then left to pursue lots of other things. I'm now a paramedic, and looking to rejoin the forces in some capacity. I'm too old for the regulars, and to be honest I have other things going on in my life that make the TA a more attractive prospect anyway. So, it's the TA or nothing...

Thing is, I want to do something that's challenging; physically and mentally. I have thought about 23 SAS as I'm near a squadron, as a few friends in the past have done that, but I'm now too old - 40. Same problem with age for the RMR.

I'm split between doing something medical due to my civi skills, but don't want to get stuck setting up tents/being fucked around as medics seem to do in most units I've heard of. I'm pretty fit (mountain walk/climb/fell run/gym stuff) so infantry appeals, but don't want to join a non-airborne unit (sorry!).

Is there anything that fits the bill where I could use my medical skills in an infantry setting? 4 Para? MSU to SAS(R)? Something I'v not heard of? Suggestions welcome. PM if needed.

Thanks. JP
  2. Some Options.

4 PARA RAP
    144 PARA MED SQN

Medic with 299 Engineers
  3. Cheers for those suggestions guys. Any more are welcome too. Suprised nobody's told me I'm past it, or to get over the mid-life crisis yet!

Will chase them up.

4. The_Duke

The_Duke LE Moderator

Not past it, but usual caveats apply: