Advice on fitness

Discussion in 'The Training Wing' started by kieranwelsh, Sep 12, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi people,

Firstly i do apologise if these questions have been answered elsewhere, ive been looking through and quite frankly, theres too many threads to try to find the relevant info to the below questions :D

Im half way through an army application (done app form, got references, medi report done and ive chosen what i want to join) - my next stage SHOULD be my selection centre....but my recruitment sergeant wants me to prove i can run the 1.5m in under 14 minutes at an army running club that they offer (probably because im a bit lardy)

Im doing this run on 22/09/09 as its the only time i can get off work to do it. I have been running 3/4 times a week for the last 2 months but my fitness doesn't seem to be improving. However, im determined to do this run on 22nd and require a little bit of help of how to prepare for the selection centre if and when it happens

What would be required of me there. I know i seen the selection centre video, and seen the people doing the 1.5m/press ups/sit ups/jerry can carrying etc, but im not sure how much ide have to do to prepare for all of this.

How many press-ups would i need to do?

How many pull ups?

How many sit ups?

What are the weight of the jerry cans and what is the distance i need to carry them?

What else would i have to do at the selection centre (except the 1.5m as i know i have to do that!!)

- - -

Final question