Advice needed on Jobsworth off duty copper

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by drain_sniffer, Jan 16, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Right, driving to work this morning, I was cut up on a roundabout by some dick in a white subaru. I flashed and tooted my horn to let said individual know that he was being a dick. Said individual pulls over and puts his 4 ways on, steps out of his car and waves his hands infront of mine. I stop, thinking here we go

He walkes over to my car, pulls open passenger door and starts fing and blinding at me.

"Who the f[/b]uck are you" I ask....

"I am a police officer",says he, "and I am going to take your number and you will be hearing from me"

Now, I was a little shocked at this. The guy had no ID, and when I challenged him to show me proof, he fucked off back to his motor

In hindsight, there are plenty of things that I should have said and done, but I did take his reg and I have reported matter to the police of the town I was driving through....

1. Can a copper pull someone over whilst they are driving in their own car?
    2. He was not in uniform, didnt give me a name or show me proof of ID when asked...That cant be right can it?

Any coppers on here want to comment?

edited to add the extra f in off
  2. I'm pretty sure, that like soldiers, they have to carry their ID card with them. And there are situations where even though they're off duty they have to still 'be a copper'. But this guy sounds like a chancer.

T C
  3. Not a copper, but friends and family are. The guy's a Walt and, given that he's driving a Subaru, probably a lesbian too.
  4. i agree, you carry your warrant card at all times, on duty or not, so this bloke sounds like he was trying it on.