Advice from ultra-marathon runners.

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by womblefruit, Oct 14, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello there guys, I'm new to arrse, ex-serving however been out for a few years now so I have drifted quite comfortably into civilian life. I have been bitten by the ultra -marathon bug in a way that I never was in the Army, there PT was just a pain in the arrse! I completed the Jurassic Coast Challenge a few months ago, 3 marathons in 3 days, then went on the the Jurassic 24 which was the same course in 24 hours, again here I just dribbled in under the cut-off time. I have just entered what is called the Viking Ultra and quite honestly I'm wondering if it is a bridge too far. 149 miles, 40 hours. Techniclly less than 4 miles an hour however I'm pretty phased by the whole idea if it.

Question is, very simply, guys i need some help on this. I'm not a running nut, i don't know all that much about nutrition, diet, training plans etc ..... i really would like some advice. I'm runnig 4 ten milers a week, 30's at the weekend and doing a massive ammount of CV in the gym in between. Distance running I hit 50's quite comfortably however 3 of them back to back is a bit daunting. I also run /march with weight 15miles, 2 hours 30 with a 35lb rucksack.

Any ultra-marathon / endurecne event guys out there, I'd really like to chat and find out how to build a structured training regime and maybe swap ideas / tips or goad each other on to more silly and ridiculous events! My Viking Ultra is less than a week after next years Jurassic Coast Challenge and quite honestly the timing couldn' t be worse but I aim to do them both. any help, tips or advice would be more than appreciated.

Votwo's The Oner on IssTV - YouTube

Introduction - The Viking Way Ultra

Anybody want to come and try it with me......?

2. Brotherton Lad