Advice for Sandhurst with Newborn

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by TheRealTrucker, Jan 13, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello

I had a search and couldn't find any answers to my questions. First a bit of history.

I'm in my final year at uni, for the last 3 years I've been in both the OTC and the TA, I also have a TA commission. However, it has been my intention to go to regular Sandhurst after university. I had planned to go in Jan 2010 or perhaps do a TA tour and then go afterwards.

Last week myself and long term girlfriend found out that she was pregnant - massive shock etc. But we are happy about it now and excited about the future. However, it means that I need to go to Sandhurst as soon as possible as I need the salary to support them both.

After graduation from uni, the earliest I can go is Sept 2009, and I'm currently sorting out the paperwork etc. The baby is due in August, so I'd be going to Sandhurst with a one month old back in civvie street.

I know that people before me have been in this situation before. I was just looking for advise on what sort of support I could get at Sandhurst - if any. I know that since it is a training establishment I won't be able to expect much until I commission and am at battalion.

Does anyone know who I should speak to. Don't worry I'm not getting all of my advice from here. I'll be speaking to sponsors/Welfare officers etc. But does anyone have any experiance of this sort of situation either first or second hand? Does anyone know of any schemes or charities I should make contact with before or while at Sandhurst?

Anything would be very much appreciated.