advice for an Ex ATC cadet hoping to become an ACF AI

Discussion in 'OTC and ACF' started by Ethers, Feb 10, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Guys, I've been with the ATC for 6 years as a cadet, achived the rank of flight sergeant, I've moved to a new city for Uni and hope to join my local ACF detachment. I'm meeting the local Coy Commander tomorrow night to chat a few things over - not entirely sure what that'd entail, any ideas?

I'm eager to get back into uniform and start helping cadets out again, hence my reason for choosing the ACF over the ATC, I'd have to wait until i'm 21 (I'm 19)

I've read up on the training process and I'm keen to crack on as soon as possible. Any adivce as to which path i should follow, AI or Officer?

And how much of a problem will it be that i'm a student, i.e. having to move 230 miles away three times a year to go home.

Any advice welcome.

2. Most new instructors to the ACF will start off as Civilian Instructors until their CRB check and references are through and validated. After that you'll most likely be given the nod for uniform, where you'll hold the rank of Potential Instructor. You'll have to attend a few courses before you'll be promoted to Sergeant Instructor. Once you're an SI, there are more courses which allow movement up the rank structure.

Most Counties don't allow you to go straight in as an Officer so they can get to know you and see if you're Officer material. There'll be people here who'll be able to fill you in in more detail on that branch of the ACF.

For me, being a student, it didn't pose much of a problem; just make sure you get your assignments done before their deadlines, especially if you have a training weekend or two coming up. I'm 150 miles from my 'home', but that made no difference either; most Counties are in desperate need of AIs.