Adventure Training

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by Mandsandad, Jun 3, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all

I'm a paramedic in the initial stages of joining the TA as a CMT. The unit I'm wanting to join is keen for me to join due to a combination of low numbers generally (especially in the detachment nearest to me), and especially my civilian quals / experience.

I'm hoping that both careers will help one another, but (putting my cards on the table) I'm also wanting to try and get everything I can out of the TA. A big personal dream of mine is to learn to sail.

The unit has told me that the TA is brilliant etc etc and aswell as paying for my next degree, giving me teaching & leadership quals, will also teach me to sail if I'm so inclined via adventure training. They have told me that I am paid my daily wage when on my 'sailing course' and that the fee for the course is heavily subsidised.

I have a feeling I'm being strung a yarn (re: sailing) - are such things commonplace?

Do I have to serve for a few years before being eligible?

How would I access such courses? I go as an individual, others from the detachment do not have to go?

**Stupid question alert** - My wife obviously cannot go on such courses?

The keen-ness of those I've spoken to makes me a little nervous things may be getting a little exaggerated.

Cheers

M