ACF Instructors, whats it like

Discussion in 'OTC and ACF' started by chiefwiggum, Apr 19, 2004.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am considering becoming an ACF instructor.
    I've 10 years Reserve Forces experience in the Royal Signals and the RAF Regt.
    I am a qualified junior sports coach (Rugby) so I'm use to working with young people.
    Whats it really like? any advice would be gratefully received
  2. It depends which County you join
  3. Either West London or Surrey, I can get to units in both without too much hassle
  4. maninblack

maninblack LE Book Reviewer

Be prepared for dealing with situations that will shock you. It is very satisfying, but also upsetting at times.

Oh, and remember, it is also the home of every failed wanabee on the planet as well as some of the most dedicated people you will ever meet, often those who come across as one turn out to be the other.

Just like joing the army after leaving cadets I would advise you to remeber that you have two ears and one mouth, which should be used in that proportion.

A further point, just because you have left the army, don't think you won't need a kevlar spine protector for all the knives that are about, it is just as bad.
  5. go for Surrey as thay ae one of the better run counies in the country. a bit slack on bullying but are getting the hang of things (didn't seem to have any set way of dealing with a situation, so no one knew what to do.). did some training with them the other year. good bunch. SW are terrable from what I have seen. even there own officers despare that thay would actualy acheve somthing. they consider it an achevement that thay have got the kids off the street. more than thats a real effort.

mib is right the number of instrutors out there for their own gains rather than the cadets is apalling so keep one eye open.