Accredited Training for Paramedics - soon!

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by ibilola, Jun 16, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Interesting recent post on the Army Medic Website:

"For those of you who know me you will know that I am a nurse not a CMT, however my current job means that I have a lot to do with the CMT cadre and its future. As a quick update on Paramedic I can say that DMETA are currently negotiating Paramedic trg for all 3 Services with the ASA and NHS Ambulance Trusts. The upshot is that we are well on track to introducing fully IHCD accredited Paramedic Trg for CMTs from late this year/early next year. We plan to have a first tranche of 16 CMT Cpl which works out at 2 per Reg AMS Fd unit. The training will involve 42 weeks full time at an ambulance trg centre close to the CMT's parent unit, at the end of 42 weeks the individual will qualify as an Amb Tech with all of the requisite experience and trg. Those who are deemed suitable will do a further 10 weeks and become State Registered Paramedics. The trg will carry a 3 year trg Return of Service and Registration will be subject to the usual annual reaccreditation requirements. Because the Amb Trust get a trainee full-time for the whole period there is no cost except T&S. Where an individual cannot maintain currency he/she will be able to return to the Amb Trust for refresher trg.

I sat on the CMT Steering Group in 1987 and we talked about Paramedic Trg for CMT then, at long last it is happening and I for one think its well overdue. The projection is for 16 trainees per year, the reason for this is that with current CMT Cpl manning 16 is about all the system will bear, we will have the option to increase as manning improves."

The whole thread which has been running for several years(!) can be found at: