Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to join our community
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site, connect with other members through your own private inbox and will receive smaller adverts!

absolute newbie :) - married quarters

Elainy

Crow
hi all,

as i am going to marry my fiance (who is to become an officer) and we are planning to move into married quarters i am wondering if anyone can tell me, what life is like there. it might be of interest, that i am german and not very used to military stuff at all...

thanks for your answers.

regards
elainy

Get your fience to take you round to one of his mates who has a quarter. You can see for yourself what its like then, and also the wife will probably be able to tell you everything you want to know.

Boney

Elainy said:
i am wondering if anyone can tell me, what life is like there.

It can be as good as you want it to be. Best thing you can do is keep an open mind, dont be afraid to mix with the families in your Regt/Unit/Estate, you're all in the same boat at the end of day.

A must "do" is get an interest/hobby etc for you (and kids if any), no doubt he'll be depolyed at some point and 6 months is a long time on your own.
Go along to the "stitch & b itch clubs", coffee mornings, take advantage of the facilities like the gym etc... might not be your bag but it gets you out & meeting people.

And dont forget there are support channels if you need them, your Unit Welfare Officer is always a good place to start.

cait, id just like to say thanks to you as not only did elainy have these thoughts and questions but i did aswell. ive been thinking about it alot recently as im due to get married in july and ive heard so many nasty rumours about living in quarters and the bitching that goes on between some of the families. we have a 3 year old and another on the way so im quite concerned about things.

hi all,