AAC vs RAF

Discussion in 'Aviation' started by stylus, Nov 13, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. This could probably have gone in one of several forum topics but I assumed this would be the best place to start.

I'm planning on going into either the AAC or RAF as an engineer. For someone who wants to work with aircraft, the RAF would normally seem like the automatic choice, but I would say that 'army life' in general appeals more having been in the cadets, even excluding having the chance to get my hands on an Apache.

As per usual, getting un-biased opinions on the pros and cons of each are hard to come by. Ask anyone in experience from either side and, of course, their regiment, corps etc is great and the other is shit. Seeing as I've no experience of my own, could anyone give their opinions on what's likely to be the good and bad aspects of each. I understand most of you, if not all, aren't in the RAF but your points of view will still be helpful.

Just to emphasise, this is with reference to joining as an engineer rather than a pilot.

2. You may want to ask the same question the the REME thread mate.

In the Army its not the Army Air Corps that maintain thier own aircraft, we have grubby spanner bending urchins with a far less sexy capbadge to do that.

Saying that, sooner4 be a REME than a crab...... and you would get to wear a pretty blue beret.

3. ok, I'll post it there. cheers

4. never, ever go to the dark side... you will lose all self respect.

5. The Royal Navy have Aircraft too!!

6. and men with bottoms like empty catering bean tins

7. Priceless :lol:

8. RAF food is better

9. You must have been spoilt! I wouldn't feed the stuff we get to a rabid dog with no taste buds. Five tiimes through the blander then onto the hotplate with it! 8O