AAC / RAF Regt recruitment query

Discussion in 'Aviation' started by trickywoo, Mar 11, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. G'day gents. I have a quick q. re the AAC / RAF Regiment. Collegue of mine "just off the boat" from Sith Ifrica. 25 yrs old, bright, cheerful and fit. As a Commonwealth citizen, he would appear to be correct in the assumption that all doors are open to him in the Harmy / RAF. He's potty about planes (aren't we all) and his first choice is the RAF Regt followed by the AAC in the ORs. Are there many foreign johnnies in the Regt or the AAC? Also, my only knowledge of the RAF role is that they guard you chaps on the ground. Is this correct? Well, that and a no doubt well-deserved reputation for fitness. As a Boer this lad's probably been brought up on 2 kudu a day so he'll be fit enough.

For my part, I'm a civvie pilot and have had a few years in the Harmy and I'm sure he'd be an asset whether in green or blue.

Thanks chaps,

2. It's worth pointing out that RAF Redge and the AAC Airtrooper have very different roles, I think. Redge is basically infantry, while Airtroopers are a bit higher up the foodchain - they do things like refuelling and rearming aircraft, intelligence and signals - they have to be able to do local security too, of course, but it's not their primary role.