A security concern over Forces Reunited

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by Rameses, Jan 7, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Recently I received this email from Forces Reunited:
    Dear XXXXX,
    It has been more than a year since your last visit to Forces Reunited and we wondered if you have mislaid your account details. If so, here is a reminder for you.

(I replaced my details in this post but they were sent in clear by Forces Reunited.)

This horrified me as I work in IT security and I couldn’t believe that a web site serving the forces is doing this.
    I know I haven’t used the site for over a year but the data in my profile is still correct and the only thing stopping this getting into the wrong hands is that I still use the registered email address (also was never hacked).
    I am very concerned that people that are veterans or currently serving that registered a while ago but no longer use the registered email address, either due to forgotten password or the worst case it was hacked are at risk.

I did contact Forces Reunited regarding this matter and I got the following response:
    07 January 2012 20:08:20 by Support
    The password is only sent to the registered email address but we note your concern Sir.
    Forces Reunited Support

This is crap that they should NEVER send the username and password together to an email account, and also by their own admission they send it to an email address that has not be accessing the site for over a year ( a hint there I think). Yes send a reminder with a link to answer some security questions before giving out the password, but again they should NEVER SEND THE USERNAME AND PASSWORD TOGETHER TO AN EMAIL ACCOUNT

The level of information that most people have put in this site is a concern and I thought I should let everyone here know about this security risk.