A respectful request.

Discussion in 'The NAAFI Bar' started by JeffatSAFEDefence, Jan 18, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all.My name is Jeff Sawyer, and I'm a retired London (Metropolitan) Police officer. I have never served in the military (one of my two regrets - the other one isn't suitable to be in the public domain...), and I genuinely hope it's acceptable for me to use this forum to make a request of you who have served.I now live in Basingstoke, Hampshire and make my living teaching martial arts and self-protection. I teach a system which is a mixture of Jiu-Jitsu, Krav Maga, Kali, Boxing and Muay-Thai. I have been training in - and teaching - martial arts for almost 34 years (the arts and systems I've studied have quite literally saved my life twice - once as a police officer, and once whilst serving as a member of a close-protection team in West Africa).I am in the process of writing a book and have had several articles and pieces published in the UK. The book is on the physical and psychological aspects of hand to hand/close quarter fighting, and the real-world use of self-defence/unarmed combat tactics. As part of my research I have conducted several interviews with Police officers, security personnel and one with a former Welsh Guardsman who served in Northern Ireland.
    I need to speak with and potentially interview current or former members of the armed services who have experienced combat at close quarters, and I am hoping that some of you on this forum would be prepared to help.I can assure you that I will respect and honour any degree of discretion and/or anonymity that is required.Please feel free to contact me if you'd be interested in contributing. Thanks for reading!Jeff SawyerWebsite: S.A.F.E. Defence - a new era in self-protection - HomeE mail: mastersawyersjujitsu@hotmail.com

2. Ravers