A respectful request.

Hi all.My name is Jeff Sawyer, and I'm a retired London (Metropolitan) Police officer. I have never served in the military (one of my two regrets - the other one isn't suitable to be in the public domain...), and I genuinely hope it's acceptable for me to use this forum to make a request of you who have served.I now live in Basingstoke, Hampshire and make my living teaching martial arts and self-protection. I teach a system which is a mixture of Jiu-Jitsu, Krav Maga, Kali, Boxing and Muay-Thai. I have been training in - and teaching - martial arts for almost 34 years (the arts and systems I've studied have quite literally saved my life twice - once as a police officer, and once whilst serving as a member of a close-protection team in West Africa).I am in the process of writing a book and have had several articles and pieces published in the UK. The book is on the physical and psychological aspects of hand to hand/close quarter fighting, and the real-world use of self-defence/unarmed combat tactics. As part of my research I have conducted several interviews with Police officers, security personnel and one with a former Welsh Guardsman who served in Northern Ireland.
I need to speak with and potentially interview current or former members of the armed services who have experienced combat at close quarters, and I am hoping that some of you on this forum would be prepared to help.I can assure you that I will respect and honour any degree of discretion and/or anonymity that is required.Please feel free to contact me if you'd be interested in contributing. Thanks for reading!Jeff SawyerWebsite: S.A.F.E. Defence - a new era in self-protection - HomeE mail: mastersawyersjujitsu@hotmail.com

Whilst I've never bayoneted a man I have been involved in close combat.