A Question relating to visiting relatives

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by whocares, Dec 29, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Dear Points of View,

My daughter has come over to stay for the festive period from the UK and being a good soldier I completed the correct sponsorship forms prior to her arrival ensuring that she was entitled to the usual NAAFI entitlement and (Annex C) FREE MEDICAL TREATMENT.

A couple of days ago she had to go to the MRS as she was suffering from intolerable ear ache in both ears, she produced her sponsorship form and even her E111 and the Doctor said.............. 'Sorry we can not treat you as the MOD are cutting back on these sort of things!' Now without wanting to lose decorum on this site can somebody please provide me with some advice or explanation as to how the FvCK this can happen? For Christ sake it was earache we were not asking for her to receive care under BUPA, just bloody ear drops. Why bother with the relevant paperwork and E111 cards if the Doctor in the MRS says that due to the MOD cutting down we cannot treat you, supposing it was something more than ear ache and actually she had perforated ear drum? The mind boggles.

I would appreciate to know where this directive is laid down that highlights the fact that the MOD are cutting down on medical treatment and that gives the medical services the instruction to not treat, I would be interested indeed, so, I am sure would the tabloids!

Any pointers/advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

2. You don't say where yuo are but I presume it's BFG, in which case the E111 is applicable to civvy doctors. She can go to a German and use the facility. Whether it applies to MOD is another matter, probably not or abyone holidaying in germany with an E111 could call at any military establishment for treatment.