A Mec seeks B mec

Discussion in 'REME' started by Gorbalds, Jan 30, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Yes I’m a 17-year very experienced A Mec but I have very little serious experience on the Heavy B Vehicles (Technical side I may add). And I am looking for a B Mec with my cap in hand because I’m after your expertise. As I have just been dumped into a heavy B vehicle repair line.
    Here is the problem our inspection departmet (bless them) are failing numerous heavy B fleet vehicles for brake angles exceeding 90 degrees. The area they are referring too is from the actuator to the brake-applying arm. This is all French to me as they are all passing a brake test while the applied brake angle is very very near or just past 90 degrees. However this is supposed to be illegal, this is due to loss of braking torque once it is past the 90-degree mark which I can understand. Now before I dig into a mountain of AESP looking for a possible + - factor % and get out of date or incorrect info or hopefully the correct info, which may be in French (A Mec pun). Is this a common failing in our dated B vehicle fleet, as this seems to be aimed at the Air brake fleet? Any info or feedback greatly appreciated. The reason this is being asked as this is causing a immense amount of work to regain this 90 degree mark, please keep in mind that the vehicles are having drums and shoes renewed and at times the angles are still not being achieved this is as you can imagine keeping high profile vehicles of the road. Not to mention the cost in labour and parts just to gain 2 5 degree’s

Ps the inspection department are currently getting the info that they are following in black and white (AESP) so at least I can see why my guys are getting F**ked about.

TIA (thanks in advace)

PPS serious replies first please before i get all the abuse about amec seeking b mec ;)