A few questions...

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by amazing__lobster, Jan 24, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Right, after going to my local TA centre to join the Med Regt, I have come away slightly confused.

I asked to join the Med Regt as a medic, as I was an RMA when I was a reg. But I was taken into the OTC office, as I am now a student and they suggested that I join the OTC either as a Tom or as a OCDT. Now the OC/Adj is phoning me up tomorrow to talk to me.

1) Will the OTC OC who is phoning me up tomorrow also going to be incharge of the Med Regt? I can PM the regt if anyone wants to know where I went.

2) The Sgt Major said he could use me as a squaddie (I somehow get attached to the OTC as a soldier) to provide medical cover, drive and assist the PSI's. Can they actually do this?
    I get the feeling if I do, do this, then I will be doing just menial tasks and no actual soldiering.

2. They are fobbing you off mate, tell them what YOU want to do, your a civvy now , act like one
  3. I know, but I went to the med regt barracks. Also I am also using my words very carefully on here, as I don't know who is reading it. I kept saying I wanted to join as a medic, so thats why I'm a little confused as to the OTC OC phoning me up, I thought he might have been OC of both (though I doubt it). And I'm going to explain that again tomorrow.

But, when I say can they actually do this, I mean is it possible to have someone join the OTC as a TA soldier, which is how the Sgt Major made it sound. Although If can join the TA reg, then I wont mind assisting the OTC, as the money would come in handy.
  4. Not as far as I am aware , the TA is the TA and the OTC is ,well whatever it is . Maybe you need to do the hard sell, ie