Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A few general questions.......

Hi there first of all please only general helpful answers, up for a bit of banter but right now looking for help.

Im 19 (on sun) and looking to apply to RMP (again no hate just helpful answers) - i'm currently a manager in a betting shop and have been in a solid relationship for 4 years currently engaged. My partner has previously applied for the army (RLC Driver) reaching the selection stage but pulled out due to not feeling ready.

We are both at a stage of now feeling ready to re/apply but wonder what, if any complications would come with us both applying. Its a 50/50 chance that were placed at the same training base (pirbright/winchester) but would it be better if 1 of us applied went through basic then the other applies and goes through basic ?

We do have 2 full time jobs and overheads (car, flat bills etc)

Any advice would be great.

Can’t say much about the rest of your question BUT

My recruiter said for RMP you’re looking at a long wait to get in because they’re packed
Thanks for your reply, im not looking to apply until march-april time would this be classed as the long wait ? or are we talking 6+months ?

rawsalmon47

Old-Salt
Thanks for your reply, im not looking to apply until march-april time would this be classed as the long wait ? or are we talking 6+months ?

This is from maybe a month ago and he said roughly a year give or take, he said something along the lines of

“Police Scotland pretend they’re recruiting then people get turned away and come to us for RMP, the applicant list is full”

You can join as another trade and re-trade later when the figures are required, Is there another career path you may wish to go on ?