A Disgrace

Discussion in 'The ARRSE Hole' started by sebastian_r, Oct 21, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi - this is my first topic (and I'm a student) so I trust you'll all be kind lol.

Just came across this on another site. An absolute disgace!:

The world-famous Red Arrows have been banned from appearing at the 2012 London Olympics because they are deemed "too British".
    Organisers of the event say that the Arrows military background might be "offensive" to other countries taking part in the Games. The display team have performed at more than 4000 events worldwide, but the Department of Culture, Media and Sport have deemed the display team "too militaristically British". Red Arrows pilots were said to be "outraged", as they had hoped to put on a truly world class display for the Games, something which had never been seen before. Being axed from a British-based event for being "too British" is an insult - the Arrows are a symbol of Britain
    The Red Arrows have been excellent ambassadors for British overseas trade, as they display their British-built Hawk aircraft all over the world.
    The Arrows performed a short flypast in 2005 when the winning bid was announced, but their flypast at the Games was to have been truly spectacular.
    It is to be hoped that common sense prevails
    If you disagree with this decision, please sign the petition on the link below:http://petitions.pm.gov.uk/RedArrows2012/?ref=redArrows2012
    Please do forward this on to everyone you can.

Is there any way we can demonstrate our displeasure about this? Any suggestions?

2. oldbaldy

oldbaldy LE Moderator Good Egg (charities)
    1. Battlefield Tours

No I won't. For a student you must be thick. Use the search function.

Suggestions? Yes go back to bed.