• ARRSE have partnered with Armadillo Merino to bring you an ARRSE exclusive, generous discount offer on their full price range.
    To keep you warm with the best of Merino gear, visit www.armadillomerino.co.uk and use the code: NEWARRSE40 at the checkout to get 40% off!
    This superb deal has been generously offered to us by Armadillo Merino and is valid until midnight on the the 28th of February.

A Blueprint for Making Intelligence Relevant in Afghanistan

Still reading this (found in The Guardian).

Link

However, it is a blunt, objective piece that I doubt that we would have written, let alone released.

I have been out of the 'game' for some time now so I have no recent operational experience to base my comments on other than reading through this paper.

I would say that its just as well the Americans have taken ownership of a strategically weighted document with the words "making intelligence relevant' in its title. For God's Sake surely this is not the right title to use because to me (as a civvy) it simple says "We have not been making intelligence relevant for the last 5 years" 8O

I would like to think that in all our UK military operational experiences we have always worked to a Commander's IRs - and therefore from a UK perspective the words 'intelligence' and 'relevant' should never conflict.

Quote me if I am wrong but if any serving UK Military Officer or DIS bottom shiner had put his name to this you would have thought he would already be picking up his P45?

In the process of reading it - as the OP says, unlikely statements like this would be published in UK:

"The most salient problems are attitudinal, cultural,
and human. The intelligence community’s standard
mode of operation is surprisingly passive about
aggregating information that is not enemy-related
and relaying it to decision-makers or fellow analysts
further up the chain. It is a culture that is strangely
oblivious of how little its analytical products, as they