A Blueprint for Making Intelligence Relevant in Afghanistan

Discussion in 'Int Corps' started by Howayman, Jan 5, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Still reading this (found in The Guardian).

However, it is a blunt, objective piece that I doubt that we would have written, let alone released.
  2. Discussed on R4 this morning, making the drive to work such fun!
  3. I have been out of the 'game' for some time now so I have no recent operational experience to base my comments on other than reading through this paper.

I would say that its just as well the Americans have taken ownership of a strategically weighted document with the words "making intelligence relevant' in its title. For God's Sake surely this is not the right title to use because to me (as a civvy) it simple says "We have not been making intelligence relevant for the last 5 years" 8O

I would like to think that in all our UK military operational experiences we have always worked to a Commander's IRs - and therefore from a UK perspective the words 'intelligence' and 'relevant' should never conflict.

Quote me if I am wrong but if any serving UK Military Officer or DIS bottom shiner had put his name to this you would have thought he would already be picking up his P45?
  4. In the process of reading it - as the OP says, unlikely statements like this would be published in UK:

5. Over-reliance on PowerPoint story boards...........where have I heard that before? How much bandwidth do you want to strangle today sir?