60 Squadron's Mushroom Stickers

StoryTime

Swinger
Hello!

My boyfriend who is from Northumberland, England, told me that when he was growing up, there used to be mushroom stickers on several road signs on A1 which, if you followed them, would lead you to fields where magic mushroom grew (he never did follow the stickers himself and now most of them are gone from the road signs). As a freelance writer I was intrigued by this story and thought it might lead to an interesting article about counter culture in England. Imagine my surprise when my research led me instead to ARRSE! Hell, the mascot at the top of this page is a mushroom!

Would anyone from the 60 Squadron be willing to speak to me about the origins of the mushroom stickers, the meaning behind them, and a supposed feud with a rival squadron that tagged everything with owl stickers? I would love to hear your stories and reminiscences!

I grew up in the North East and remember seeing these bright orange mushroom stickers on road signs.

The magic mushroom story is a new one though.

I don’t remember needing road signs to find them :-D

StoryTime

Swinger
I grew up in the North East and remember seeing these bright orange mushroom stickers on road signs.

The magic mushroom story is a new one though.

I don’t remember needing road signs to find them :-D
The idea for this story got even more interesting once I learned that a squadron was behind these stickers!

Do you remember when you first started seeing them?

The idea for this story got even more interesting once I learned that a squadron was behind these stickers!

Do you remember when you first started seeing them?
Im sorry I can’t recall exactly, maybe around the mid 90’s.

Initially I had no idea what they were about, but after joining up and seeing that orange sticky tape used for all kinds of stuff, I thought it had some kind of military connection.

Hello!