40% Tax on your pension.

Discussion in 'RLC' started by Conductor, Apr 26, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. In the last budget, much was made of your basic personal allowance being raised to £8k but little was made of 20-40% threshold being lowered by £3k. Now I pay Tax at 40% on my pension.

For those of you who are still serving, be warned, that golden challis called the pension is only any good to you if you are in employment. If your out of work it will bar you from all benefits that may be available.

2. I have been drawing my pension for 17 years now, and have been out of work a couple of times, and I can tell you that being barred from lining up with the chavs and pikeys down the job centre 'cos I make £ a week before getting out of bed is not a problem for me. The best advice is...use your gratuity to pay the mortgage down..not for a new car, a boat, and a world cruise.

• Like Like x 2
  3. Hmmm, you're ex conductor and you're crying like a private.

Shall we do this correctly.

You're pension is counted as an income and subject to tax. As are the WAGES you earn on top of the pension.

You like most In the country are subject to:

A personal allowance: so you don't pay tax on the first £8,105

20% Taxation on anything you earn upto £34,370.

40% Taxation on on anything between £34,371 - £150,000

45% Taxation thereafter.

So, you're no worse off than anyone else and a damn sight better of than most. Your pension is unaffected, because it alone does not bring you into the 40% bracket.

• Like Like x 4
  4. Brotherton Lad

Brotherton Lad LE Reviewer

You could get a job earning less money and reduce your tax bill that way. Spend more time with the family.