4 para fitness/ADSC

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by watershed2100, Mar 19, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi there I am looking for some advice, thinking about joining 4 para A Coy. I'm looking for advice on fitness, not a total novice I'm reasonably fit at the moment but i know I`m not at training standards yet. I believe the next recruitment cadre starts in July, also how flexible are they during training with attendance I work shifts in the fire service which can sometimes be hard to swap. With regards to the ADSC what is the stipulation for exemption from that, I have previous military service with the Royal Navy. Thanks for your time lads.

2. If you have no previous service then you will need to attend a TARS weekend. In this weekend fitness wise you wil be asked to carry out pull ups, a jerry can carry (2 20litre jerry cans over 150m at walking pace), 3 "dynamic Strength Test" (a strange back strength test, a pull test from the ground and a clean and jerk type lift of about 50kg I think), then finally you have to complete a 1.5 mile run on as good as flat ground in under 09:30 minutes (make sure your run time good enough as this is probably the most important test carried out at TARS).

Once you have done that and start your cadre then concentrate on body weight exercises and functional fitness. No need to do any specific isolation exercises or heavy weights. Sort yourtself out with some circuits that you can do, don't even need to be a gym member as you can do body weight exercises anywhere (squats, press ups, sit ups, burpees, lunges etc... loads to be found online and getting yourself a medicine ball will open up a few more options).