4 Lancs TA Q's

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by Vodka&Coke, Jun 12, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi

I have been thinking about joining the above. I havent been down there yet but i think maybe i could get some broad answers to a few questions i have here.

Here's abit of background info, I'm just about still young enough to join at 41, i'm pretty fit, carry no excess and probably could get really fit really quickly if i decide to go ahead, I was once in the marines when i was 18 then got an MD and rejoined the forces 6 months later in the Scots Guards. I did another 6 months in there before i got an Honourable discharge after deciding it was'nt the regiment for me (to much BS) In hindsight i wish i'd have joined as a medic or similar. Since i left the forces all those moons ago i'm now a fully qualified Mech Engineer and assistant manager, however i dont want to do that in the army if i can help it ! I'm currently unemployed due to engineering being hit in the nuts with the recession etc..

However not to be disheartened i now fancy giving it another shot, as a medic or at least training to be one. I'm really interested in the medical side. I know what it feels like to literally save someone's life and i enjoy that feeling, i'd love to be able to offer something to the lads in the army.

So with that in mind, how would i fare ? due to being unemployed and having no close family i could easily mobilise and want too, whats the opportunities like to volunteer for Op's abroad etc ?

Would i be stuck with one night a week and a weekend a month or could i put more time in than that ?