32 year old thinking of joining reserves; either 4 PARA or Royal Artillery

GA87

Crow
Hey all,

I've always wanted to join the forces but at the age of 25 I failed to complete my royal marines entry due to back pain. I now work as an engineer after getting my university degree and I absolutely love my job. However, I still have the 'itch' of being a part of the armed forces. I'm seriously considering joining a reserve unit as either a soldier or officer. maybe the PARAS but not sure I'm my body can take it! The royal artillery sounds interesting. My fitness isn't great but I'm working on that. The idea of joining the forces sounds great to me but I'm not sure if I'm wasting my time; I know that if I talk to my wife or family they'll just tell me to focus on my career instead. Is it worth doing this at 32?

Mrsheeny

War Hero
Sign up for the Artillery, you’ve already made your decision. You only regret the things you don’t do, forget what the Mrs and Family says, or what you think they might say.

Just do it, sign up right now tonight and stop toe dipping, just jump in.

Jammy66

War Hero
My fitness isn't great but I'm working on that.
I would sort this out first. If you can't run fast enough or are too fat they won't take you. The required standards for the various roles are all on the Army website. As they're minimum standards my advice would be to get yourself to that level first then apply.

Hey all,