.303 ID

I was given some WWII 1944 fired .303 cases this am that a pal has just dug up with his metal detector.

Not because I'm an expert on such things...but simply I'm English and there fore must know exactly what they are and who fired them and the serial number of his gat etc. :eek:

They're kinda intresting because they have what appears to be a small copper disc wedged in them...I've not seen this before (which means feck all) but wondered what it is for or what they are for?

No photos as yet as my batteries are flat...but will post them as soon as the phone is charged up.

There's also a painted steel steel cap with the case fragments which looks as though it might be from some type of grenade...possiblly a No.82 Gammon Bomb or No.69 Grenade as that's the closest thing I've found so far that resembles the cap...except this has a spting clip on it.

Greatful for any ideas.

4(T)

LE
Which end is the copper disk wedged?

Are the primers indented with a round dent (rifle) or slotted dent (Bren gun)?

No 69 and 82 grenades both used the no247 always fuze. It's cap is made of bakerlite.

The .303 cartridge case could be an 'E MK VII 1T' grenade launching cartridge. It has a copper cap.

Is it like this?
image.jpg

I think you might have it with the Grenade Launching cartridge.

They are from an area which was not exactly a battlefield as such but was possibly used as a training area behind the front line from arounf 13th June 44 onwards.

The cap looks like that found on the fuze of a three inch mortar bomb.

It is. Used in a series of fuzes, last to go out of service was the no162 on the 81mm HE. Also used on 2" and 3" HE.

HE117

LE
The screw cap is off either a 117,119 or 213 fuze!
These were used on a number of artillery natures including the 25 pounder and 5.5..

Ding... the 162 fuze cap is thinner does not have the flat spring clip..!

The thing with three holes is a Tube vent axial.. - it looks like a .303 blank with a backpressure valve in it..