3 phase electrical help,

Discussion in 'DIY' started by pegasusbranding, Nov 3, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have just been given one of these machines, SINGER 457 INDUSTRIAL 3 STEP ZIG ZAG SEWING MACHINE£695 on eBay (end time 04-Nov-10 17:05:43 GMT) I dont have a clue about electrics though, and I shant be doing anything without a expert. At this stage I just need an idea on what to do. The machine is 3 phase yet my small workshop in the garden has just 240 volt domestic power. Would I be better getting 3PHASE installed or swapping the motor for a 240volt one, or is they a converter which will plug into my normal 240v plug socket and I then plug the machine into the converter.

thanks for any replies
  2. Peg, I assume it is 110? if so just buy yourself a transformer off of ebay>
    I have no electrical knowledge and am sure the sparkies on here will better inform you what to do.
  3. You would need to rewire the motor as per either of these diagrams

It is feasible but the problem you would have is that the motor would not run as smoothly as it will as a 3phase unit, along with the direction of rotation.
    The cost of having your garage supplied with three phase would be expensive to exhorbitant dependant on the length of cable run from the supply.
  4. TheIronDuke

TheIronDuke LE Book Reviewer

Anything to do with electrics, get a qualified electrician. Unless it is on a tank. In which case, get a hammer.

Seriously for a moment, do not **** with electrics unless you know what you are doing.