29 Cdo RA & 7 Para RHA?

Discussion in 'Gunners' started by BubbleBlower, Jan 12, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello chaps,

Firstly, apologies as I'm sure some of you are sick of posts from wannabes about 29 Cdo & 7 Para. However, I've searched the site and not found an answer to my question.

I'm very keen on joining the Army as an officer this year (probably Sept intake) and I hope to be commissioned into the RA. Is it possible during your career to serve in both 29 Cdo RA and 7 Para RHA? I'm not a badge collector, I just have a perverse, masochistic desire to do both courses. Something about proving it to myself...

Ideally I'd like to serve in 7 Para after YOs and then go to 29 Cdo once a Capt. Is this realistic or even feasible?

As a bit of background (if it helps) I'm a 21 yr old grad, will be 22 by RMAS (so will be 23 on commissioning).

Also, I've been told that RA exercises often involve an infantry aspect. Do 29 & 7 do more infantry-type work than 'normal' RA units?

Thanks in advance for any replies!

2. Welcome to the site, go for it and get them there courses done while your still young and not bogged down with various career jobs etc. The whole of the RA do various amounts of Infantry work depending on there comittment and time available, this obviously can be zero in some units all the way to full on deployments.

Maybe if you want to do Infantry type work you may be suited in the erghh Infantry.

Good luck and dont belive anything anyone tells you on here..........
  3. this may not be the answer you are looking for if you are a masochistic but go 29 first, being AACC trained means you can do your jumps course which means you can go to 7 without the pain of P Coy