23 Y/O women enjoys walks on the beach...

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by tonkatoy, Apr 30, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi All,

Now I have your attention :) I just have a few questions.

I am hoping to sign up for officer training at Sandhurst on the 14th of May. Joining the army has been something I have wanted to do since I was 14 but my brother beat me to it and joined as a regular soldier and told me how awful it was, how the conditions were terrible and that I would NOT be able to cope. Being very young and naive I believed him and went on my merry way to college then to University. Which I hated. I have grown up a lot and have a lot of experience in the 'real' world and have had a job since I was 16 even when I was a student bum.

I have had many jobs and always felt like I was wasted in every single one of them. I truly believe, (as stupid as it sounds) that I will do something great with my life and I want to feel like I have a purpose and I want a career that I will make a difference. At the moment I feel very lost and most definitely don't have a purpose. Till I looked into joining again.

Now... I am very small and don't really do a great deal of fitness (I'm not fat I just struggle with motivation when I have nothing to work towards). How quickly is it after you sign all the papers to when you have your first fitness test? I have started running, very slowly, and just needed to know some time scale of when I would be possibly put through my paces? I am also learning how to swim so that hopefully won't be a challenge either when it comes to it.

This is something that I really really want to do and my fitness is the only thing that will potentially let me down. Does anyone have any tips or anything to help as I am at the minute thinking about putting it off for a few months?