1st camera.

Discussion in 'Photography' started by anglian-sam, Feb 7, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello there guys and girls ive been interested in photography for a while now never really had the time to do anything about it but nowdays got bit time on my hands, Well im a complete newbie to photography just wanted to know what would be an ideal first camera for someone thats on a budget to get hold of.

Yes i no that with said equipment that money shouldnt be spared but im not really sure that in months to come that i will still be playing so dont really want to spunk a load of cash thanks sam.

2. My advice would be to have look at a Canon 550D but not with the kit lens. Look for a nice 35mm or 50mm lens on ebay. I've some great old prime (non zoom) manual lenses that I love messing about with and they worth all of £60. Having said that it's worth investing in the glass now so maybe consider splashing out a bit - you could end up paying more for a decent lens than the camera.
    The chances are that you'll upgrade the camera at some point but if you buy a decent lens this will last you for a few 'generations'.

3. AS Bigeye has suggested the Canon entry level DSLR or the Nikon. The 50mm from canon is a cracking lens and for under £100 it is money well spent, the lenses make or break an image so buy the best you can afford also if you go for a zoom lens go for one that has a relatively short zoom, as the longer the zoom the worse the image quality is at the top and bottom end. This is due to the number of elements that the lens needs.

4. Thanks for the info so far lads, would you recomend i take a few photography courses first?. Thanks sam.